ASEAN CPA Secretariat


Qualification to Become an ASEAN CPA

A professional accountant who meets the qualifications, practical experience and conditions
is eligible to apply to be an ASEAN Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA)
on the ASEAN Chartered Professional Accountant Register.

1. Holds the nationality of an ASEAN country

2. Has completed an accredited accountancy degree or professional accountancy examination programme recognised by the National Accountancy Body (NAB) and/or Professional Regulatory Authority (PRA) of the Country of Origin or Host Country, or has been assessed and recognised by the NAB and/or PRA as having the equivalent of such a degree

3. Possesses a current and valid professional registration certificate in the Country of Origin issued by the NAB or PRA, of that Country of Origin and in accordance with its policy on the registration, licensing and/or certification of the practice of accountancy

4. Has acquired relevant practical experience of minimum three (3) years cumulatively within any five (5) year period prior to application

5. Has complied with the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) policy of the Country of Origin, and

6. Has no record of serious violation of technical, professional or ethical standards 

NAB: National Accountancy Body
PRA: Professional Regulatory Authority
NMC: National Monitoring Committee
ACPACC: ASEAN Chartered Professional Accountant Coordinating Committee

For further information on the ASEAN CPA requirements for each country, please refer to
the ASEAN Member States pages.